Academic Senate

The Academic Senate is the official representative body of the General Faculty, composed of the members of the Executive Committee of the Senate, the General faculty's representatives to the Statewide Academic Senate, an elected faculty representative from each academic department, the library, counseling unit, and one representative from the Emeritus and Retired Professors' Association, one lecturer representative, one coach representative, one staff representative, two students, the Provost/VPAA and the VP of Student Affairs. It is constituted to formulate and evaluate policy and procedures on academic, personnel and fiscal matters and make recommendations to the President. There are six standing committees of the Academic Senate, four subcommittees and a varying number of ad hoc committees. The function of these committees is to consider all aspects of any matters referred by the Senate Executive Committee or Academic Senate and recommend action for the Academic Senate.

The Academic Senate meets alternate Tuesdays during the academic year, from 2:00 4:00 pm in the John Stuart Rogers Faculty Development Center (JSRFDC).

The Senate Office is located in JSRFDC 109. The telephone number is (209) 667-3400. Correspondence should be sent to:
Office of the Academic Senate, Stanislaus State, One University Circle, Turlock, CA 95382.

2016/2017 Speaker of the Faculty/Chair of the Academic Senate is: Dr. Cathlin Davis 
Professor of Liberal Studies

Questions or comments should be directed to Isabel Pierce,
Executive Assistant to the Speaker of the Faculty

Academic Senate Information